These little creatures are eukaryotic, or have a nucleus and organells. there are more than 200,000 species and there is no way that every single one is exactly the same! this is why potists are broken up into 3 main groups: animal-like, plant-like, and fungus-like! under these groups are where the 14 plylums are sorted! there are 4 animal, 7 plant, and 3 fungus.
majority are unicellular like the amoeba and the stentor but few are multicellular like the volvox.


*they eat other protists or bacteria or plants to get energy making them like animals!
1. unicellular
2. it can be found in oceans, waters, lakes, rivers and mud
3. gets energy from eating bacteria and algae
4. moves with its cilia (small hairs on its outside)
5. its not harmfull
6. reproduces by binary fission (asexual)
7. has trichocysts to defend itself and capture prey (long hair)


*photosynethesis to get most food, only eat other organisms when no light is present
1. unicellular
2. mostly live in fresh water but some live in saltwater
3. gets energy from eating bacteria and algae, diffusion and mostly through photosynthesis
4. flagella pull it forward and pellicle helps it move when there is not enough water for it to swim
5. not harmfull
6. reproduces through binary fission
7. some have a red eyespot for sensing light


*Feed off of dead organisms or decomposing ones
examples: acrasiomycota (slime mold) and oomycota (water mold and potato famine)
These areprotists because they have a different cell wall and have centrioles which fungus do not